Topic: Pausing

ok, so I added

setInterval(Delegate.create(this,onClickNext), 3000);

to get the thumbnails to scroll, is there a way to pause/play the scrolling?

-Steve

Re: Pausing

To start slideshow:

var show_int =  setInterval(Delegate.create(this,onClickNext), 3000);

To stop:

clearInterval(show_int);

Felix Turner
SimpleViewer Support Team.

I'm sorry, i'm very new at flash, could you point me in the direction on how to implement that code?

Here is some very basic logic that implements a slideshow in SV Pro 1.8. I've kept my example simple -- no new buttons or controls are used -- by modifying a fairly standard install of SV. Hopefully it's easy enough to get you started and not so simple to be of no use.

You'll start by modifying the ImageArea.as file. We want the init() function. Right after this line of code (~ line 107)

col.setRGB(mXMLManager.imageFrameColor);

and before the function's closing brace ( } ) you want to insert this line of code

mIntervalId = setInterval( Delegate.create( this, onClickNext ), mSlideShowDuration );

This guy does the work. It's a timer that calls onClickNext, but it depends on variables we've not yet set. So let's set 'em...

The beginning of the ImageArea class is where all our variables are defined. (Well, it's where you ought to define them if you enjoy tidy code.) Look for a suitable blank spot, say line 47 or so, and insert 2 lines

private var mSlideShowDuration:Number = 3000;
public var mIntervalId:Number;

Now we have a public reference to our timer, mIntervalId, and we have a private reference to the duration between calls, mSlideShowDuration. (The duration is in milliseconds.) You'll notice all the other variables here are private. We're making mIntervalId public in order to be able to call it from  outside of the ImageArea class.