Topic: How can I recurse to sub-folders and build a "tree" of galleries?

SVEG,

I have a master gallery and 6 or so child galleries in lower folders. Is there I way I can build the parent gallery so it will have links to the galleries in child folders?

Thanks,

Scott

Re: How can I recurse to sub-folders and build a "tree" of galleries?

If you want to link to other galleries from within a gallery you can place links in image captions (using HTML formatting as documented here) or you can have each main image act like a big button and redirect the user's browser to a unique link when clicked. This can be achieved by setting imageClickMode="OPEN_URL" in your gallery's XML file. When the user clicks a main image, the corresponding linkURL will be opened in the linkTarget window.

You may also want to take a look at the SimpleViewer Skin for jAlbum.
jAlbum is a desktop application which allows you to create multiple galleries in a single action.
When using the SimpleViewer Skin, you can drag and drop a complete folder structure into jAlbum's main window and click 'Make Album'.
The resulting album will have a separate SimpleViewer gallery for each and every folder/subfolder in your input structure and all the galleries will be linked together via a JavaScript navigation tree.
Here is a sample album created by jAlbum and the SimpleViewer Skin.

A further solution if you would like multiple galleries to be listed on a Gallery Index page, each represented by a thumbnail image, would be to use Showkase.
Showkase is a PHP web application which would allow you to create a complete portfolio website and it has full support for Juicebox-Pro and SimpleViewer-Pro galleries.
There are many demo Showkase demo sites which you can take a look at here.

Steven Speirs
SimpleViewer Support Team.

Re: How can I recurse to sub-folders and build a "tree" of galleries?