Topic: After update: "Gallery XML not found"

Hi,

I recently updated NextGEN and now get an error for all my Simpleviewer galleries: "Gallery XML not found". As far as I can tell the permissions of the svcore folder are fine. Any idea what's happening? Here's an example:
http://inmagicland.com/2014/08/south-chilcotin/].

It's weird since I have another website on the same server, with the same versions of Simpleviewer and NextGEN, with just one gallery that does work:
http://cherryonabike.com/locations/

I tried going back to a previous version of NextGEN and that didn't seem to do the trick - the galleries disappeared completely, instead of giving the above error. I also tried the newer version of Simpleviewer, which didn't solve the problem.

Currently using WP-Simpleviewer 2.3.22 and NextGEN 2.0.66.27.

(PS: I'm a pro user of Simpleviewer)

Thanks,
Gili.

Re: After update: "Gallery XML not found"

I have just created a gallery with WP-SimpleViewer v2.3.2.2 and the lastest version of NextGEN (v2.0.66.27) and it displays and functions fine I am not sure what could be causing your problem. Perhaps it is related to your web server's current PHP configuration.

If I try to view your gallery's XML file directly in a browser, a "XML Parsing Error: no element found" error message is displayed.
However, if I feed the URL into a download manager, I can open the resulting file in a text editor and view your gallery's XML data absolutely fine.

Please try the following.
Open the plugin's 'wp-simpleviewer/config.php' file in a plain text editor and change line 106 from:

echo $dom_doc->saveXML();

... to:

echo $dom_doc->saveXML($settings_tag);

Hopefully this will help. It has helped a couple of other users in the past whose galleries have displayed similar symptoms.

Please note that the line number above refers to WP-SimpleViewer v2.3.2.2.

Steven Speirs
SimpleViewer Support Team.