Topic: newbie setup questions..

Hi,

I'm completely new to simpleviewer-pro and svmanager and have some practical questions:

I have a website set up where I want to include simpleviewer-pro to display the photo albums. The gallery page lists all the links to the different albums. On each album I want to include the header & footer (with a link back to the gallery listing page), so I want to use the "HTML embedded strip" template.

I've uploaded the svmanager with FTP to my server (root), copied the viewer.swf file from sv-pro to svmanager/svmaster/ but am still unsure about how handling the embed-template: do I need to copy all the HTMLEmbed/strip_example files to svmanager as well?..

I've read all the documentation I could find for simpleviewer, pro & svmanager but don't find more detailed info hereabout...

Many thanks in advance!
regards, isabelgica

Re: newbie setup questions..

This one of those things that are fairly easy to do but not that easy to explain. I'll try.

To add headers and footers, you need to edit the file index.php in the svmanager/svmaster folder. This will be copied into your new gallery folders every time that svManager creates a new gallery.

Make sure you have a backup copy of svmanager/svmaster/index.php in case you make a mistake with your editing. Open the file in a text editor and you'll find that it is mostly common-or-garden html and css with some javascript and some php code identifiable by the php starting and end tags <?php ... ?>.

To make your new galleries look like the strip example, firstly add this css code inside the style tags in the header (I've just copied it from the index.html file in the strip example):

#header &#123;
        background-color&#58; #dddddd;
        width&#58; 100%;
        height&#58; 60px;        
    &#125;

#footer &#123;
        background-color&#58; #dddddd;
        width&#58; 100%;
        height&#58; 40px;        
    &#125;

Then add this line of html immediately under the <body> tag: