Topic: Thumbnail 'stretching'...?

As a newbie here, I hope this has not been addressed (did read all the thumbnail post - I think)...

In the v1.7.1 the thumbnail size was smaller (45x45), however, if a thumbnail was not the exact size, i.e. 45x20, then the thumbnail would be 'padded' with the frameColor.

What I have found in v1.8 is that the new thumbnail size (65x65) insist on these setting, in effect stretching a thumbnail that is less out until it reaches 65 on either direction. So, in my case, I have a thumbnail that is 65x32 (8x4 picture), this will be stretched to 130x65, then 32 pixels on both sides will be cropped. The result is a very ugly looking thumbnail (due to the stretching).

Hope this made some sense...

Based on this - assuming it is correct - here are my questions:
1 Is there a way to avoid this stretching?
2 If not (1), would I have to convert all my thumbnails to a 65x65 size format (most likely pad the thumbnail with the frameColor) myself?
3 If so (2), how do you do that in an automatic fashion (I use Photoshop)?

Please advise...

BTW - Felix, thank you for this product, and thank you again for disabling the print function... big_smile

Re: Thumbnail 'stretching'...?

Hi Cristian,

you are right: the way thumbnails images are handled is different in v1.8. Thumb images are scaled proportionately to fit the 65x65 'window'. Non-square images are then cropped to fit. This gives the best results for mis-sized images. However, scaled-up images may look blurry.

The solution is to use thumb images that have the shortest side set to 65px long. So for tall images: width=65, height >= 65 and vice versa for wide images.

buildgallery.php will do this automatically for you. I dont have a photoshop action to do this. Anyone have one handy?

Felix Turner
SimpleViewer Support Team.

Re: Thumbnail 'stretching'...?

Felix,

Thank you for getting back with me...